Scott Rolen elected by 5 votes in Hall: Who was anchored with fewer votes, Class of 2024 preview

Scott Rolen was the only player elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA) on Tuesday. He received 76.3 percent of the 389 votes cast in 2023 after missing inclusion last year with 63.2 percent of the 394 votes cast in 2022. Rolen made it into the Hall of Fame with five votes, becoming only the seventh player to be inducted by so little Marge.

Twenty-seven other players were on this year’s poll, and longtime Rockies first baseman Todd Helton lost 11 votes short of the required 75 percent. In his fifth electoral year, Helton jumped to 72.2 percent of the vote this year after receiving 52 percent last year.

Rolen will join Fred McGriff in this year’s class as McGriff will be inducted into the Hall in July following his election by the Contemporary Baseball Era Committee in December.

Here’s everything you need to know about the selection process, who got fewer votes than Rolen and who could make next year’s list:

How are players selected for the Baseball Hall of Fame?

Members of the BBWAA—who have been active baseball writers for at least 10 consecutive years—vote on eligible players each cycle. The 2023 ballot was mailed to about 400 eligible voting BBWAA members, the hall announced in November. Players require 75 percent of the vote to be anchored and will be removed from the ballot if they are named on less than 5 percent of the ballots or have been on the ballot 10 times without a choice.

A committee selects those on the ballot, which will be released in November. To be eligible for selection, candidates must have been an active major league player for a period beginning 20 years before the election and ending five years before the election. You must also have played in 10 major league seasons, a portion of which must be within the above timeframe.

The plaque gallery at the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, NY (Jim McIsaac/Getty Images)

Players on the MLB list of ineligible players will not be considered. In addition, if an active player, or a player who has been retired for less than five years, dies and is otherwise eligible, he or she is eligible at the next election occurring at least six months after the date of death or at the end of the five-month period, respectively whichever comes first.

According to the BBWAA, voting is based on a player’s “record, playing ability, integrity, sportsmanship, character and contributions to the teams” they have played on.

Further details on the election process can be found here.

Who was up for election this year?

Fourteen players made their BBWAA Vote debuts in 2023: Bronson Arroyo, Carlos Beltrán, Matt Cain, RA Dickey, Jacoby Ellsbury, Andre Ethier, JJ Hardy, John Lackey, Mike Napoli, Jhonny Peralta, Francisco Rodríguez, Huston Street, Jered Weaver and Jayson value

Fourteen former players also returned to the 2023 BBWAA election (having garnered at least 5 percent of the vote last year): Rolen, Helton, Billy Wagner, Andruw Jones, Gary Sheffield, Alex Rodriguez, Jeff Kent, Manny Ramirez, Omar Vizquel , Andy Pettitte , Jimmy Rollins, Bobby Abreu, Mark Buehrle and Torii Hunter.

What other members were elected to the Hall of Fame with 5 or fewer votes?

One player, Al Simmons, earned just enough votes to reach the 75 percent threshold in 1953, with two votes left.

Early Wynn entered the hall in 1972 with 76.01 percent of the 396 votes cast, while Ivan Rodriguez received 76.02 percent of the 442 total votes cast in 2017.

Three players, Cy Young (76.12 percent in 1937), Ryne Sandberg (76.16 percent in 2005), and Catfish Hunter (76.27 percent in 1987), had lower percentages than Rolen when they were elected.

What happens if no player reaches 75 percent?

The Hall of Fame added no members in 2021 because no players received enough votes, a year that saw Curt Schilling, Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens on the writers’ vote. These three returned for last year’s voting and, along with Sammy Sosa, missed the cut in their 10th and final year on the list.

The BBWAA also did not select anyone in 2013, 1996 and 1971.

Who is in the Baseball Hall of Fame?

The Baseball Hall of Fame includes 340 former players, including seven inducted last year: Bud Fowler, Gil Hodges, Jim Kaat, Minnie Miñoso, Tony Oliva, Buck O’Neil and David Ortiz. Fowler, Hodges, Miñoso and O’Neil were elected posthumously.

Who could be elected next year?


Adrian Beltré in 2021. (Richard Rodriguez/Getty Images)

First-time eligible players for the 2024 class could include José Bautista, Adrián Beltré, Bartolo Colón, Adrián González, Matt Holliday, Jim Johnson, Victor Martínez, Joe Mauer, Brandon Phillips, José Reyes, James Shields, Chase Utley, David Wright, and others belong to Brad Ziegler.

Players who didn’t earn a spot in the hall but still garnered enough votes to remain on the ballot in 2024 include Todd Helton (72.2 percent), Billy Wagner (68.1 percent), Andruw Jones (58 .1 percent), Gary Sheffield (55 percent). ), Carlos Beltrán (46.5 percent), Alex Rodriguez (35.7 percent), Manny Ramirez (33.2 percent), Omar Vizquel (19.5 percent), Andy Pettitte (17 percent), Bobby Abreu (15, 4 percent), Jimmy Rollins (12.9 percent), Mark Buehrle (10.8 percent), Francisco Rodriguez (10.8 percent), and Torii Hunter (6.9 percent).

Jeff Kent received 46.5 percent of the required votes but was in his final year of eligibility.

Helton made great strides, missing just 11 votes after receiving just 52 percent of the required votes in 2022. He will be a strong candidate for anchoring in 2024.

Beltré, a four-time All-Star and five-time Gold Glove Award winner, is also a likely selection. He is the only major league player with at least 3,000 hits and 450 homers among those who have appeared on third base in at least half of their games.

Mauer, a six-time All-Star, five-time Silver Slugger Award winner, and three-time Gold Glover Award winner, and Utley, a six-time All-Star and four-time Silver Slugger Award winner, have the best chances of joining Beltré as their first pick.

The 2023 Hall of Fame induction ceremony is scheduled for July 23. Future induction into the Hall of Fame is scheduled for July 21, 2024; July 27, 2025; and July 26, 2026.

required reading

(Top Photo: Albert Dickson/Getty Images) Scott Rolen elected by 5 votes in Hall: Who was anchored with fewer votes, Class of 2024 preview

Russell Falcon

TheHitc is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button