Neil Young will release the Official Release Series Volume 4 box set next month

Neil Young has announced the fourth installment in his Official Release Series anthology, which includes three classic albums from the 1980s – one of his own and two collaborative works – as well as a rare EP, previously only sold in Australia and Japan.

Official Release Series Volume 4 is scheduled for release on April 29th via Reprise. In addition to Young’s 1980 solo album Hawks & Doves, the box set includes his fifth album with Crazy Horse (1981’s Re•ac•tor) and his debut with The Bluenotes (1988’s This Note’s For You).

It is also the first time that many fans will be able to hear the EP “Eldorado”, which was originally released in Australia and Japan in 1989. Recorded at The Hit Factory in New York City, it sees Young backed by The Restless, which consists of drummer Chad Cromwell and bassist Rick Rosas.

Alternating mixes of three songs from “Eldorado” – “Don’t Cry”, “On Broadway” and the title track – would eventually be included on Young’s “Freedom” album. “Cocaine Eyes” and “Heavy Love,” on the other hand, remain exclusive to the release. Announcing the new box set, Young shared a high-quality stream of ‘Cocaine Eyes’ – listen to it below:

Official Release Series Volume 4 will be available on CD and vinyl, the latter of which will only be available at indie record stores and via Young’s webstore. Pre-orders are possible here.

Last month, Young addressed a conspiracy theory that his music release was being secretly monitored by Pfizer (the company behind one of the most widely used COVID-19 vaccines). He described the theory as “smart but wrong,” while also joking, “So much for Pharm Aid” — a reference to both the usual “Big Pharma” conspiracy theory and his own charity, Farm Aid.

The conspiracy theory is part of an ongoing conservative backlash against Young — most recently voiced by right-wing American rock musician Ted Nugent, who called Young “stoner birdbrain punk” for his recent protest against Spotify and Joe Rogan.

Young removed his catalog of albums from Spotify last month to protest the platform featuring Rogan’s podcast The Joe Rogan Experience as exclusive to the service. Young believes Rogan is responsible for spreading misinformation about COVID-19 vaccines and has since urged Spotify employees to quit their jobs over Rogan’s platform.

https://www.nme.com/news/music/neil-young-to-drop-official-release-series-volume-4-box-set-next-month-3185979?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=neil-young-to-drop-official-release-series-volume-4-box-set-next-month Neil Young will release the Official Release Series Volume 4 box set next month

Caroline Bleakley

TheHitc is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@thehitc.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button