Listen to the title track from Phife Dawg’s new posthumous album, Forever

The title track of A Tribe Called Quest’s upcoming posthumous album Phife Dawg has been shared – listen to ‘Forever’ below.

  • READ MORE: RIP Phife Dawg: A Recap of ‘The Low End Theory’ from A Tribe Called Quest

The record, also dubbed “Forever,” will be released Tuesday (March 22) – six years to the day Phife died at the age of 45.

The founding member of the seminal hip-hop group, real name Malik Taylor, died of complications from diabetes in 2016 after working on A Tribe Called Quest’s sixth and final album, We Got It From Here… Thank You 4 Your Service. had contributed. He had struggled with poor health for decades after being diagnosed with diabetes in 1990.

The new song “Forever” features famous uses of the word in songs like Outkast and Wu-Tang Clan.

Listen below.

The new album will also feature performances from a range of artists including Q-Tip, Busta Rhymes, De La Soul’s Maseo and Pos.

The upcoming collection has been completed with notes left by Phife detailing how he envisioned the album sounding.

A number of posthumous Phife Dawg singles have been released by his estate over the past year. The first was Nutshell Pt. 2′, which was released last February and featured verses by Busta Rhymes and Redman.

This was followed by “French Kiss Deux” in May and “French Kiss Trois” in September, both featuring Illa J, brother of the late J Dilla.

“We give God all the glory for allowing Malik to achieve anything his heart desires, including his solo music,” Taylor’s family said of “Forever” in a statement accompanying the album in 2020.

“He worked really hard to finish his album before he made the switch and he was willing to share with his fans an album that was very dear to him. His fans meant the world to him.”

Check out the track listing for “Forever” below.

1. ‘Cheryl’s Big Son (Intro)’
2. “Just a Coward”
3. ‘Fallback’ (feat. Rapsody & Renée Neufville)
4. “In Short Pt. 2′ (feat. Busta Rhymes & Redman)
5. ‘Sorry’ (feat. V.Rich)
6. ‘Dear Dilla’ (Reprise) (feat. Q-Tip)
7. ‘Wow Factor’ (feat. Maseo by De La Soul)
8. ‘Residual Curiosities’ (Feat. Lyric Jones)
9. ‘God Send’ (feat. Dwele)
10. “Round Irving High School” (feat. Cheryl Boyce-Taylor & Angela Winbush)
11. ‘French Kiss Trois’ (feat. Redman & Illa J)
12. ‘2 Live Forever’ (feat. Pos of De La Soul, Little Brother & Darien Brockington)
13. ‘Forever’

https://www.nme.com/news/music/listen-to-phife-dawgs-forever-from-new-posthumous-album-3185961?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=listen-to-phife-dawgs-forever-from-new-posthumous-album Listen to the title track from Phife Dawg’s new posthumous album, Forever

Caroline Bleakley

TheHitc is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@thehitc.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button