Corked quad delays Warner return as Australia Bowl comes first

David Warner’s international return was put on hold with Australia opener to miss second ODI against India with a corked quad.

Mitch Marsh, who scored 81 in Friday’s first game of the series, will face Travis Head again tonight in Visakhapatnam.

Steve Smith won the toss and chose to bowl first with the tourists looking to level the series after a five wicket loss in the series opener in Mumbai.

India XI: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami

Australia XI: Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith (c), Marnus Labuschagne, Alex Carey (wk), Cameron Green, Marcus Stoinis, Sean Abbott, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Ellis, Adam Zampa

Warner was scheduled to return for today’s match until he sustained a corked quadriceps, with the opener resting from Friday’s opening ODI to give him extra time to recover from a hairline fracture in his left elbow.

The 36-year-old has not played since the second Border Gavaskar Test last month after suffering blows to the helmet and elbow while bowling from Mohammad Siraj.

Glenn Maxwell, who scored eight and threw two overs in the series opener, will also miss the second ODI as he continues his gradual return from a fractured left fibula.

Wicketkeeper Alex Carey has recovered from illness to take his place in the starting XI, replacing Josh Inglis, while Nathan Ellis comes on side for Maxwell to bolster bowling depth.

Rahul, Jadeja defeat Starc Blitz and win the series opener

It means Australia take four frontline bowlers – Sean Abbott, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Ellis and Adam Zampa – into tonight’s clash with all-rounders Cameron Green, Marcus Stoinis and possibly Head to split fifth bowler’s overs.

Stoinis, who will be batting at number 7 tonight after coming in at eight and opening bowling on Friday, urged his fellow hitters to better summarize conditions after an 8-59 collapse in the first ODI.

“We understand that if we’re going to play eight racquets we still have to play a certain way until the 35th over or whatever, and when the time comes we can assert some authority with our backs. end power hitter,” he said.

“We need to get a little bit better with our techniques and figure out how we’re going to play that.”

The return of Rohit Sharma is one of two changes for India, with Ishan Kishan making way for the skipper while spin bowling all-rounder Axar Patel has replaced Shardul Thakur.

The hosts will wrap up their three-game streak with victory in Visakhapatnam tonight, while Australia hope to keep the streak alive in the third game in Chennai on Wednesday.

Qantas ODI Tour of India 2023

First ODI: India won by five wickets

Second ODI: Sunday, March 19, Vizag (7pm AEDT)

Third ODI: Wednesday, March 22, Chennai (7pm AEDT)

All matches will be broadcast live and exclusively on Fox Cricket and Kayo Sports

Squad Australia: Steve Smith (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Squad India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya (vc), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj , Umran Malik, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, and Jaydev Unadkatt Corked quad delays Warner return as Australia Bowl comes first

Russell Falcon

TheHitc is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button